Each platform has limits for path and segment lengths. The truncation option determines how to handle paths and segments that exceed these limits. If disabled (the default option), an item with a path or segment length that exceeds the platform limits will not transfer and will be be flagged for remediation. When enabled, truncation will shorten a path or segment name when it exceeds the maximum number of characters a platform allows by removing the right-most characters until the path meets the length requirements. Enabling truncation reduces the potential for flagged items.
The truncation option can be enabled when creating the job in the user interface on the Behaviors page. By default, the Allow truncation toggle is disabled and will be gray. To enable truncation, select the toggle. It will be green when the feature is enabled.
Truncation off by default
When creating a job through the REST API, you can set the job to use truncation as part of the transfers block. The truncation policy options are true and false (default). This element is the same as the Allow truncation option in the user interface.
To enable truncation, set the segment_truncate parameter to true.
To disable truncation, set the segment_truncate parameter to false. Truncation is off by default, so if you do not include the truncation parameter in the transfer block, it will default to off for the job.